Wednesday, January 17, 2007

Mr. Cooper - Amongst Strangers

This Brighton based producer is either very confident in there work or just plain lazy, but ‘Amongst Strangers’ has twelve tracks and not one of them has been named. I guess it’s not necessarily a cocky act, maybe it’s to allow the listener to make up their own mind on the work. Personally, I feel names give a window into what the artist was thinking when putting the work together, but I guess we’ll never know.

What has gone into making this record is clear with or without names though; passion, creativity and most importantly… talent! Across the 12 tracks the listener is treated to instrumental beats which are in the most part, chilled but still very emotive. This is not wishy-washy hippy music destined to be played in lifts circa 2020, but music that you can relax to and let yourself be taken on a musical journey. Ok, so a few of the beats I can’t help myself but think would have been better with an emcee or vocalist on, but perhaps that would ruin the faultless flow of ‘Amongst Strangers’, for this is a rare album that you can easily play out every time you put it on. Is this because it’s only 42 minutes long? Well no. It’s because that each track length is just right, with enough variation to stop the nauseam that can all too often come hand in hand with instrumental albums.

There is little to fault an album like this, which can be played as a mood leveller, as background music, or simply put on and given your undivided. Mr Cooper has an immense talent on the boards, which shines throughout the album. A Must Have!

1. One
2. Two
3. Three
4. Four
5. Five
6. Six
7. Seven
8. Eight
9. Nine
10. Ten
11. Eleven
12. Twelve

1 comment:

jdd said...

Damn missed it.